I am currently sitting in my apartment in Shanghai avoiding the first homework assignment from my Chinese Language class.

It’s been a little over a week since I’ve arrived in Shanghai and like the other cities I’ve wandered into recently it’s coming with it’s share of themes and motifs. I’m not so pretentious to think that this is some sort of Eat Pray Love scavenger hunt for personal growth but I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t experiencing what feels like a new chapter and the dizzy pace feels like speed reading.

On this weird adventure I’m on, Shanghai was the most deliberate move. This is the city my Mom’s family is from and though it has changed a lot, coming here is still an exercise in what it means for me to be a first-generation American visiting the old country (whatever that means).

And this blog? This is for all of the friends who are curious about what I’m up to. I’m not always good at keeping people up to date but since I’ve enjoyed reading the blogs that a few friends have kept while abroad I thought I’d try keeping one too. I feel so fortunate to have wonderful people in my life, you’re probably* one of them and I want to share this experience with you. Know that I am thinking of you while I check things out on this side of the world.

Oh, the title of this post is a reference to what I am currently listening to. This is another one of those songs I looked up after it was on Glee (but unlike others, I don’t prefer the Glee version [I can’t help myself])

我想你们!
Emily

*hey stranger danger

